top of page

Raindrops On My Parched Heart

Updated: May 20, 2022

Doth thou wonder how the desires arise?

Tempting to the mind but achievable -

Fulfilling the need of our natures,

And a human disposition to have ’em all -

Despite the hindrances that shake our faith,

And intimidate our sublime self-esteem.


Doth thou contemplate why we’re in despair?

Because of the solitude that engulfs us -

Exacerbating misery beyond bounds,

And a hopeful endeavour to obliterate it -

Despite an apprehension that makes us doubt,

Which stirs up a feeling of uneasiness.


Doth thou muse the reason behind stagnation?

The fading zest that threatens our interest -

Berating will at the expense of healing,

And a lacklustre life waiting to be reformed,

Despite a soul clamouring for vitality,

And a thirst waiting to be quenched.


I’ve discovered the meaning of true love,

When I first met you by the lake -

Saw the wind gently caressing your hair,

And thy beauty that mesmerized me -

Felt an uncanny twinge of pleasure,

Experienced a desire like no other.


I’ve uncovered a feeling of joie de vivre,

As I confabulated with you for hours -

Comprehended the essence of camaraderie,

And thy sumptuous grace that filled up a void

Which, unbeknownst to me, existed in my life -

The tides of despair hath eventually receded.


I’ve explored new depths of artistry,

Felt my enthusiasm invigorated again -

Thy brilliance complemented my imagination,

And thy everlasting presence made me whole,

Instilled a fervour and grit never seen before -

Thou art like raindrops on my parched heart.


- Priyanshu Mohanty

Image Credits: https://unsplash.com/photos/fDghTk7Typw

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page